Home Travel Guide Travel across Europe with One Schengen Visa

Travel across Europe with One Schengen Visa

by Tourist Helpline
Schengen visa
Spread the love

Schengen Visa allows one with extensive travelling in almost the entire of Europe and many Non-EU Countries. This Visa is one of the most useful visas (like the US Visa) because it will enable you to travel a lot of countries without their visas. This has made the life of travellers a lot easier. Read on to know more about the Schengen Visa!

How many European countries are in Schengen area!

The Schengen Area comprises of 26 countries that have agreed upon the allowance of free movement of their citizens within the Schengen area. Of the 26 countries that are bound by the Schengen agreement, 22 are part of the EU (European Union), and the other 4 are part of the EFTA (European Free Trade Association).

Schengen area almost covers the majority of the European countries, except for the United Kingdom and countries such as Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland which are soon to be part of this agreement. However, some countries are not part of the European Union like Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein but they still belong in the Schengen area and support the free movement policy.

These Travel apps will help you in Schengen countries

List of Schengen countries

Countries that can be visited if holding a Schengen Visa are:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Lithuania
  15. Luxembourg
  16. Malta
  17. Netherlands
  18. Norway
  19. Poland
  20. Portugal
  21. Slovakia
  22. Slovenia
  23. Spain
  24. Sweden
  25. Switzerland
  26. Liechtenstein

Documents for Schengen Visa

Every country has its own set of rules for giving the visa. It is highly recommended to contact their embassy/consulate for the latest information regarding Schengen visa fee and other details. Still, to give a rough idea, these documents are required to apply for the Schengen visa:

  • Visa Application Form
  • Photographs (Click for photo specification)
  • Valid Passport (having atleast 6 months validity)
  • Flight tickets (Roundtrip)
  • Cover Letter (Purpose of visit and itinerary)
  • Travel Health Insurance Policy (coverage of 30,000 Euros)
  • Proof of accommodation (Hotel reservation or a formal invitation letter from a resident of a Schengen country)
  • Sufficient funds for your trip (varies from country to country)
  • Bank Statement (preferably past 6 months)
Click to download : Schengen Visa application forms

How to get Schengen Visa from India?

You can get a Schengen Visa from the embassy of the country that you plan to visit. You’ll need to submit all the documents which serve as your application for the same. The best time to apply for Schengen Visa is at least 15 days before the planned visit to Europe. Also, check with the embassy for appointments.

List of Non-Schengen countries allowing entry with Schengen Visa

There are many other countries which you can visit just by having the Schengen Visa. These are listed below:

Turkey visa

Turkey visa

How to plan a Budget trip to Europe from India


Leave a Comment